Chesa Campanile, St. Moritz

The Chesa Campanile is located in the landslide area of “Brattas-Fullun” in St. Moritz. The leaning tower, the most striking testimony of the landslides that plague the region, can be found in the immediate vicinity.
The previous building from the 1960s, which was in great need of restoration, showed considerable potential for future expansion and use. It was therefore decided to dismantle the building down to the basement and rear slope protection that was still intact, and to erect a new building that complied with modern day spatial, energy and technical requirements.
Its potential for expansion made it possible to construct a whole other floor in addition to what existed in the original building. In order to balance out the necessary dimensions and extra weight, it was evident that the facade had to be a lightweight construction. The building envelope consists of large prefabricated, wood elements, which were assembled over a period of two weeks. The particular challenge facing the wooden construction planning in the implementation of the design idea was having to stagger the individual floors outwards.
A concrete skeleton consisting of the core shaft, cross-shaped arrangement of the main bearing walls and floor slabs with steel columns in the corners define the supporting structure and connect the new part with the existing building.
Wide, roughly sawn larch boards were used for the facade cladding. They were assembled using the tongue and groove method. The larch comes from the Lower Engadine. All of the trees were felled in accordance with the moon phases and so the wood has excellent properties with regard to shrinkage and swelling. Thanks to the outwardly staggered individual floors, the facade benefits from additional weather protection in addition to the canopy.
The larch from the same felling was also used for the interior design.
A wood pellet fuelled heating system was installed in the building.

Chesa Campanile, St. Moritz

Die Chesa Campanile befindet sich im Rutschhanggebiet "Brattas-Fullun" in St. Moritz. Der schiefe Turm, das markanteste Zeugnis der kontinuierlichen Hangrutschung befindet sich in unmittelbarer Umgebung.
Der sanierungsbedürftige Vorgängerbau aus den 1960er-Jahren wies beträchtliche Ausnützungsreserven auf. Daher wurde der Entschluss gefasst, das Haus bis auf das Untergeschoss und die noch gut intakte rückseitige Hangsicherung rückzubauen, um ein neues, den heutigen räumlichen, technischen und energetischen Ansprüchen entsprechendes Gebäude wieder aufzubauen.
Die Ausnützungsreserven erlaubten es, beim Neubau ein Vollgeschoss mehr zu realisieren als beim Vorgängerbau. Um dennoch dem geforderten Massenausgleich gerecht zu werden, lag es auf der Hand, die Fassade in Leichtbauweise auszuführen. Die Gebäudehülle besteht aus vorfabrizierten, grossformatigen Holzelementen, die in einer Zeitspanne von zwei Wochen montiert wurden. Die besondere Herausforderung bei der Holzbauplanung lag in der Umsetzung des Entwurfsgedanken, die einzelnen Geschosse nach aussen hin zu staffeln.
Ein Betonskelett aus Liftkern, kreuzförmig angeordneten Haupttragwänden und Geschossdecken mit Stahlstützen in den Ecken definieren die Tragstruktur und verbinden den Neubauteil mit dem Bestand.
Für die Fassadenverkleidung wurden breite, sägerohe Lärchenbretter verwendet, die mit Nut und Feder stehend aneinander gefügt wurden. Das Lärchenholz stammt aus dem Unterengadin. Der gesamte Holzschlag wurde mondphasengerecht durchgeführt und weist entsprechend gute Eigenschaften bezüglich Schwind- und Quelllverhalten auf. Dank der Hinausstaffelung der einzelnen Geschosse erhält die Fassade ergänzend zum Vordach einen zusätzlichen Witterungsschutz.
Für den Innenausbau wurde ebenfalls Lärchenholz aus dem gleichen Holzschlag verwendet.
Das Gebäude ist mit einer Pelletheizung ausgestattet.