Forum Paracelsus, St. Moritz

The Paracelsus building in St. Moritz was built in 1866. For many years it was used as a "pump room" and was connected to the old Kurhaus and spa baths through a lobby. Over time, when the Parcelsus source dried up, the building was no longer used as a pump room and the building fell into disrepair.
The political community of St. Moritz considered it their duty to preserve and restore this last testimony to the high-culture of healing baths.
The existing building has been extended sideways in keeping with its historical basis, and a new main nukleus made of exposed concrete was erected in the existing enclosed courtyard. Visitors can come here to drink the water from the Mauritius spring and find out about the history of the St. Moritz spa tradition on a backlit glass information board and listening posts.
The nucleus and the drinking fountain are made from earthy red coloured exposed concrete. A large window in the room with fountain looks out onto the Mauritius spring, which was excavated in 1907. According to dendrochronological investigations, the spring dates back to 1411 BC and represents one of the most valuable assets in Upper Engadine`s cultural heritage.
During the restoration work, the main focus was to preserve the history of the building. The restoration was carried out in close collaboration with the cantonal department for monument preservation and a team of restorers. The work carried out was done as noninvasively as possible and, where it was absolutely necessary, as inconspicuously as possible. Historical elements were left in position and not replaced, to preserve the sings of age. The sense of how it would have actually been back in its heyday can still be experienced and will also remain very much alive for future generations.

Forum Paracelsus, St. Moritz

Das Paracelsusgebäude in St. Moritz wurde um 1866 erbaut. Während vieler Jahre diente es als "Trinkhalle" und war durch eine Wandelhalle mit dem alten Kurhaus und den Kurbädern verbunden. Als die Paracelsusquelle versiegte, wurde das Gebäude mit der Zeit nicht mehr als Trinkhalle genutzt, und die Bausubstanz zerfiel zusehends.
Die Politische Gemeinde St. Moritz erachtete es als ihre Pflicht, diesen letzten Zeitzeugen der Bäder-Hochkultur zu erhalten und zu restaurieren.
Das bestehende Gebäude wurde analog der historischen Situation seitlich erweitert, und im bestehenden gefassten Hof wurde ein Kerngebäude aus Sichtbeton eingefügt. Besucherinnen und Besucher können hier Wasser aus der Mauritiusquelle trinken und erhalten auf einem hinterleuchteten Glasband sowie an Hörstationen Informationen über die Geschichte der St. Moritzer Bädertradition.
Der Nukleus und der Trinkbrunnen wurden aus erdig-rotem, eingefärbtem Sichtbeton erstellt. Durch ein grosses Schaufenster blickt man vom Raum mit dem Trinkbrunnen auf die 1907 ausgegrabene Mauritiusquellfassung. Gemäss dendrochronologischen Untersuchungen stammt diese aus dem Jahr 1411 v. Chr. und stellt eines der wertvollsten Kulturgüter im Oberengadin dar.
Bei der Restaurierung standen der Erhalt des überlieferten Bestandes und die Geschichte des Gebäudes im Vordergrund. Die Restaurierung erfolgte in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der kantonalen Denkmalpflege und einem Restauratoren-Team. Eingriffe wurden möglichst klein und, wo unerlässlich, möglichst unauffällig gehalten. Historische Elemente wurden in Stand gestellt und nicht ersetzt, die Spuren des Alters blieben erhalten. Der Bestand ist erlebbar und auch für zukünftige Generationen weiterhin ablesbar.